• Research,

« My thesis in 180 seconds » Regional Final: Sébastien Garcia has been awarded the People’s choice second prize.

from April 25, 2017 to May 25, 2017

On April 24th, Toulouse hosted the regional final round of the « My Thesis in 180 seconds » contest organized by the Federal University of Toulouse Midi-Pyrenees (UFT).

By winning the second prize of the People’s choice  award sponsored by the MAIF, Sébastien Garcia has placed our university  in the limelight.
MT180s, finale régionale : Sébastien Garcia, 2ème prix du jury

Sebastian Garcia is a 3rd year PhD student at the École Doctorale Sciences Juridiques et Politiques (Doctoral School of Legal and Political Science),

His PhD thesis  carried out under supervision of Michel Leroy, assistant professor in Law and within the framework of the Institut de Droit Privé (Institute of Private Law Studies)  deals with «Conversion and Life insurance ». The thesis is financed by « Cyrus Conseil » (asset management consulting company)  within the framework of a CIFRE contract.

The 18 PhD contenders had only 3 minutes each  to present their research project to the jury and  to the public.

The  Jury first prize and People’s choice award  went to Sophie Yvon, PhD student at the Doctoral School of Ecological, Veterinary, Agronomic and Bioengineering Sciences  (SEVAB) of INP Toulouse; her thesis is carried out within the framework of the Toxalim  research laboratory in Food toxicology (INRA, ENVT, INPT, UT3).

More details on the contest

Each PhD student is invited to present, in 3 minutes, his/her research  project and topic in clear, concise and yet convincing  terms to a jury of researchers, journalists, CNRS and CPU members and to the general public.

The  winning regional contender of  the Federal University of Toulouse Midi-Pyrenees (UFT) then runs for the national semi-final.

All the UFT PhD students have been invited to take part in this contest aimed at highlighting research achievements. They had a three-day training by  media experts prior to the contest.
The top three contenders in the national contest will meet in Liège (Belgium)  next October for the international final. Among the participating countries: Quebec, Belgium, Morocco, Switzeland, Tunisia, Senegal, Cameroon and Benin.
Updated on the May 2, 2017