Université Toulouse 1 Capitole Law Economics Management


New digital Chair Jean-Jacques Laffont

You are hereHome » Research

from February 12, 2015 to March 12, 2015

Launch of the "Jean-Jacques Laffont chair" on the digital economy

BA_.Chaire numérique_JJLaffont_2015.jpg

BA_.Chaire numérique_JJLaffont_2015.jpg

Toulouse School of Economics (TSE) and the Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse (IAST) are pleased to announce the launch of this permanent research Chair supported jointly by Fleur Pellerin, French Minister of Culture and Communication, and Jean Tirole, TSE - IAST chairman. The Chair is named after the late Toulouse economist Jean-Jacques Laffont, whose work led to major advances in public economics and information theory.

According to Jean Tirole, "the launch of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Chair on the Digital Economy at TSE and the IAST is an important step for economists and more generally for researchers in the social sciences in Toulouse. It is also a landmark event for French research on the impact of digitization on our societies."

To undertake its research agenda, the Chair will rely on the skills and talents of the researchers already in Toulouse, but also on our colleagues from universities and research centers in France, Europe and around the world. A program of visits – ranging from one month to one year – will be organized. The Chair will allow us to recruit key new talent at both the junior and senior levels. Researchers working on fields linked to the Chair will be invited to conferences and workshops. Each year a high-level meeting, aimed at a wider audience and involving the best-known names in digital economy research, will be held in Paris. Through these means, the Chair aims to provide a discussion forum not only for the research community, but also for the whole of civil society.

TSE and IAST would like to thank The Ministry of Culture and Communication and the partners of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Chair for their leadership and support:
  • Accor
  • Caisse des dépôts Group (CDG)
  • Orange
  • Samsung
  • Société des auteurs et compositeurs dramatiques (SACD)
  • Société des auteurs et compositeurs de musique enregistrée (SACEM)
  • Société Générale

Jennifer Stephenson - Press Contact

Toulouse School of Economics (TSE)

Date of update March 3, 2015

Some key figures

  • 427 lecturers-researchers and researchers
  • 13 research units (among them 4 joint research teams)
  • 3 doctoral schools and 4 co-certified doctoral schools
  • 610 PhD students (120 first year students, 43% international students)
  • 78 theses defended, 12 international joint supervision
  • 3 Attractivity chair 3 Emergence, 3 Transversality, 3 ATS
  • 2014 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences
  • 8 IUF members including 2 new nominations in 2015, 1 in 2016

Contact University: +33(0)

Toulouse 1 Capitole (UT1) is a teaching and research centre of international excellence for law, economics and management. We are proud to have Jean Tirole, the 2014 Nobel Prize in Economy among our lecturer-researchers. In 2012, it was awarded the "Jean-Monnet Centre of Excellence" label by the European Commission.

Three campuses in France, all located in the city centre, in Toulouse, Montauban and Rodez.
Three establishments abroad:
Vietnam, Morocco and Vanuatu.

A network of 200 partner universities.