Université Toulouse 1 Capitole Law Economics Management


Honorary degree 2015 to the President José Luis Rodriguez Zapatero

You are hereHome » Research » Prizes and distinctions » Careers Awards

from February 28, 2015 to March 31, 2015
<Unknown label> - Amphitheater Michel-Despax

Awarding an honorary degree to someone is an exceptional event in a university. The honorary degree is conferred as a way of honoring a distinguished visitor who promotes and sometimes defends the values shared by the university members.



During his 2 terms, President José Luis Rodriguez Zapatero has continued to extend the citizen’s civil and social rights.
One only needs to look at some of the many pieces of legislations enacted under his terms of office: the integral law against domestic violence (2004), the gender equality law (2007), the interruption of pregnancies law (2010) or the law for the victims of terrorism (2011).
It’s also under his leadership and due to his perseverance that the peace process established to fully restore the rule of law in the Spanish Basque country, started in 2005, is ended in October 2011 with the Basque group ETA announcement to abandon the campaign of violence.
These examples help to understand how our university is delighted to award and, in turn, is honored to be able to count among the Honorary Degrees ranks the President José Luis Rodriguez Zapatero from January the 15th.

Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero speech: :


Quick look at this event:

Video of the event :  



Date of update March 3, 2015

Contact University: +33(0)

Toulouse 1 Capitole (UT1) is a teaching and research centre of international excellence for law, economics and management. We are proud to have Jean Tirole, the 2014 Nobel Prize in Economy among our lecturer-researchers. In 2012, it was awarded the "Jean-Monnet Centre of Excellence" label by the European Commission.

Three campuses in France, all located in the city centre, in Toulouse, Montauban and Rodez.
Three establishments abroad:
Vietnam, Morocco and Vanuatu.

A network of 200 partner universities.