You are here : Home > Research
  • Research,

The Jean-Jacques Laffont 2021 Prize awarded to Professor Roland Bénabou

on the December 13, 2021

4pm: Public reading in Auditorium 3 of TSE
6:00 p.m.: Award ceremony at the Toulouse City Hall [restricted access]

This year the prize will be awarded to Roland Benabou from Princeton University.

Since 2005, Toulouse School of Economics organises the annual Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize which is awarded to a renowned international economist whose research, in the spirit of the work undertaken by Professor Jean-Jacques Laffont, combines both the theoretical and the empirical. The prize winner presents his or her work at a public lecture, in partnership with the city hall "Mairie de Toulouse".

This year, the prize will be awarded to Roland Bénabou (Princeton University). His work falls into three main areas. The first links inequality, growth, social mobility and the political economy of redistribution. The second is on education, social interactions, and the socioeconomic structure of cities. The third is economics and psychology ("behavioral economics"). In particular, it focuses on extrinsic versus intrinsic incentives, the determinants of prosocial behavior, and motivated beliefs, both individual (overconfidence, wishful thinking, identity) and collective (groupthink, market manias, ideology, religion).
Monday, December 13, 2021:
  • 4pm: Plenary session in english at TSE building - Auditorium A3. Event subject to the control of the health pass. Registration is mandatory
  • 6:00 p.m.: Award ceremony by Jean-Luc Moudenc, Mayor of Toulouse and President of Toulouse Métropole, at the Toulouse City Hall.
Lecture: "Beliefs and Misbeliefs: The Economics of Wishful Thinking" by Roland Benabou.
>> More information about the prize and the former laureates on TSE's website


Partners :
Updated on December 13, 2021